Home / DailyOn / Pension scheme launched for unorganized workers PMSYM

Pension scheme launched for unorganized workers PMSYM

Pension scheme launched for  unorganized workers PMSYM
Pension scheme launched for unorganized workers PMSYM

Pradhan Mantri Shram Yogi Maan Dhan (PM-SYM), a pension scheme for unorganized workers Launching ceremony programme was held at the Office of the Assistant Commissioner, Labour Welfare Department, Tezpur Zone-III. The meeting was presided over by Dr. Pradip Kumar Lahkar, Special member of medical advisory board plantation workers Govt. of Assam. 

Attending the meeting Dr Pradip Kumar Lahkar said that once the beneficiary joins the scheme at the entry age of 18-40 years, the beneficiary has to contribute till 60 years of age and on attaining the age of 60 years, the subscriber will get the assured monthly pension of Rupees three thousand per month with benefit of family pension, as the case may be. Dr. Lahkar also asked the subscribers to visit Common Service Centre (CSC) with Aadhaar number and saving bank account to get enrolled in the scheme.

Pension scheme launched for unorganized workers PMSYM

He further added that the scheme would cover unorganised workers who are working or engaged as home-based workers, street vendors, mid-day meal workers, head loaders, brick kiln workers, cobblers, rag pickers, domestic workers, washer men, rickshaw pullers, landless labourers, agricultural workers and construction workers, among others.

During the meeting as Chief Guest eminent educationist and retired Professor, Upendra Nath Sarma informed the eligibility criteria of the registration and also said that all Labour Offices of Central and State Governments, the offices of ESIC, EPFO would facilitate the unorganized workers about the scheme.


The meeting was also attended by Dolly Surin, Chairperson, Sonitpur Zilla Parishad, Dr Bhabajit Doley, Labour officer, Tezpur, Swapna Bania, Member of the Parbatia Zila Parishad,  Biswajit Bhattacharjee and many dignitaries from different places of the district. Earlier, welcome speech and Vote of thanks was given by Dr. Bhabajit Doley.

Dip Kumar Kalita, Journalist
Dip Kumar Kalita, Journalist

About Dip Kumar Kalita

Journalist at The Sentinal and Editor at Edupur Newsletter, Tezpur

Check Also

AISSCE and AISSE 2021-22 Results from Army Public School Tezpur

The People in around Historic Tezpur town in Sonitpur District today felt proud as a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *